It's home to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, over 100 colleges and universities, and some amazing amusement parks. Where are we? Ohio! From the Appalachian Mountains to the Ohio River, the great state of Ohio is a great place to call home. But before you can drive to any of its venues, schools, or parks, you’ll need car insurance in Ohio.
According to the Ohio Department of Insurance, it's illegal to drive any motor vehicle without auto insurance or other proof of financial responsibility. What do Ohio drivers need to do to stay legal on the road? They can start by getting affordable car insurance coverage through Direct Auto Insurance.
*Rates and savings vary. Pay plans, discounts and coverages subject to terms and conditions.
Whether you live in Cleveland or Cincinnati, requirements for car insurance in Ohio are the same throughout the state. The following auto insurance coverage is required by Ohio insurance law:
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: Minimum legal requirement of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. If you cause an accident that injures another person, this coverage will pay for their medical expenses, not yours, and if needed, pay for your legal services.
Property Damage Liability Coverage: Minimum legal requirement of $25,000 per accident. This coverage helps pay for damage to another person's property that occurs in an accident you cause.
These are the required minimum insurance coverages in Ohio. Neither of them will help pay for injuries to you or damages to your car that result from an accident. You may be required to purchase additional coverage if your car is leased or financed.
Ohio is an affordable place to work, live, play, and drive! In general, the Buckeye State is one of the best places to find cheap auto insurance. According to the Ohio Department of Insurance, average auto insurance premiums in Ohio are among the lowest in the country.
Your final auto insurance costs in Ohio will vary depending on a number of factors, including where you live, the type of vehicle you're looking to insure, your driving and claims history, and the coverages and deductibles you choose. You may be able to lower your auto insurance costs by increasing your deductible and qualifying for auto insurance discounts.
Buckeye drivers can save even more with money-saving car insurance discounts from Direct Auto Insurance. Pay up front and in full and you could reduce your premium with a paid-in-full discount of up to 10%. Or, make your payments more convenient by setting up auto pay and you could be eligible for an auto pay discount of up to 5%.
We like to reward all types of drivers at Direct Auto Insurance, regardless of how they make their payments. That's why we also offer special savings of up to 10% for good students and drivers with commercial driver licenses, along with a variety of other budget-friendly discounts for drivers who combine insurance policies and stay accident-free. Start with an Ohio car insurance quote to see which discounts you're eligible for or talk to an agent. We always do our best to find all the discounts you're entitled to!
Whether you're a seasoned driver looking to switch auto insurance companies or you're setting off down Interstate 75 for the first time, there are a handful of Ohio insurance laws you should know.
First, you must provide proof of auto insurance in Ohio when you are involved in a car accident, at the request of an officer during a traffic stop, or when randomly selected by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). If you cannot show proof of valid insurance at any one of these times, you may have to go to court to show that you are insured.
As an Ohioan, you could be randomly selected to submit proof of insurance to the BMV. In an effort to cut down on the number of uninsured drivers in Ohio, the BMV randomly selects 5,400 registered vehicles per week to provide proof of insurance for a selected date. If you receive one of these letters, you must provide proof of liability insurance coverage to the BMV. If you can't provide proof of insurance, your registration will be suspended, you'll need to carry an Ohio SR22 for three years, and also pay a reinstatement fee.
The second law has to do with auto insurance lapses. If you let your Ohio auto insurance lapse and you're caught driving, you could lose your driver's license for 90 days (first offense) or for a year (second offense). After your second offense, you could lose your license plate, registration, and be required to pay a reinstatement fee of up to $500. Avoid a lapse in your Ohio auto insurance coverage by making insurance payments on time, renewing your policy, and avoiding too many traffic violations or serious car accidents.
When you choose Direct Auto Insurance for your Ohio car insurance needs, you have the freedom to choose how and when you pay. This can help you stay on top of your insurance payments, avoid a lapse in coverage, and even make your coverage feel more affordable. You deserve affordable auto insurance!
Direct Auto Insurance is here for you online or over the phone! Call 1-877-GO-DIRECT or click to Live Chat and speak with an experienced agent about affordable auto insurance in Ohio. We'll help you get all the discounts you're entitled to, set up a payment plan that works with your budget, and make sure you understand everything you need to know about car insurance in Ohio. Take the first step by getting an affordable car insurance quote today, then hit the road to enjoy everything the Buckeye State has to offer tomorrow!