No matter what your situation, Direct Auto is here to help. Our Youtube channel includes many informational videos as well as videos outlining our car insurance coverage options. Make sure you subscribe today to be among the first to see each new 2nd Chances campaign videos as well. Then click the “Get Quote” link below or give us a call at 1-877-463-4732 to see how we can help you get going for less.

Searching for cheap auto insurance in North Carolina is easy when you understand how insurance rates are generally calculated and how much insurance you actually need. You may be paying for more coverage than "The Tar Heel State" requires! NC car insurance rates can vary depending on your driving record, where you live, your age, the type of vehicle you drive, and the amount of coverage you choose. You don't have control over some factors (like your age), but beyond the minimum liability insurance North Carolina requires, you typically have a say in the type and amount of car insurance you get.

The good news is that NC insurance companies like Direct Auto Insurance can provide drivers with all levels of coverage, from just the basics to what some drivers call cheap "full coverage" auto insurance. Whether you are a high-risk driver or are simply looking for a cheaper policy that better fits your budget, start by getting a free car insurance quote. Then work with a Direct Auto representative to create the perfect coverage plan that meets North Carolina requirements, but also your own needs. Our flexible coverage plans fit many drivers and budgets, and even those who may have a hard time finding affordable insurance at other auto insurance companies in North Carolina.

Minimum Requirements for Auto Insurance in North Carolina

From the Atlantic to the Appalachians, the requirements for car insurance in North Carolina are the same. You are required to have liability insurance on all vehicles registered in your name and carry proof of insurance in these registered vehicles all the time. The state minimums are as follows:

Bodily Injury Liability (BI): You are required to carry a minimum coverage level of $30,000 for injuries or death to any one person in an accident and $60,000 for injuries or death to all persons involved in any single accident. BI coverage pays for medical bills and legal protection should you or another insured driver on your policy cause physical (bodily) injury to another individual while operating your vehicle. The “limit” is the highest amount your insurer will pay for each accident.

Property Damage Liability (PD): You are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 to cover damages to other people's property in an auto accident. This portion of the policy provides coverage for damage to other people’s property when you or another insured driver on your policy is operating your vehicle. This includes damage to the other party’s vehicle. It may also include damage to other property such as nearby fences, buildings, etc. The “limit” is the highest amount your insurer will pay in each accident.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM): Motor vehicle law also requires Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists coverage, which helps pay for the medical and related expenses you incur if you're injured in a car accident and the driver who is at fault does not have liability insurance, cannot be identified, or in some states, does not have sufficient insurance to cover your claim. This coverage helps pay for the medical and related expenses you incur if you're injured in a car accident and the driver who is at fault does not have liability insurance, cannot be identified, or in some states, does not have sufficient insurance to cover your claim.

What If I Drive Without the Right North Carolina Car Insurance?

The penalties for driving uninsured aren't cheap! North Carolina auto insurance laws require all drivers to carry some form of liability insurance as proof of financial responsibility. While an insurance policy is the easiest way to do this, you can satisfy this requirement with a surety bond, real estate bond, or cash/security deposit. But if you choose to drive without insurance? If caught, you could be faced with a misdemeanor on your record, along with $50-$150 in restoration fees, loss of registration, and even imprisonment. At Direct Auto, we offer affordable car insurance plans with instant proof of insurance so you don’t have the face the high cost of driving without it.

Comparing North Carolina Insurance Companies

Some insurance companies turn down drivers for coverage because of a low (or no) credit score, poor driving history, and a number of other factors. At Direct Auto, we work hard to give you affordable auto insurance even if you have an imperfect past or lapsed coverage. You'll get a free car insurance quote and flexible plans to choose from that fit your needs and North Carolina insurance requirements.

North Carolina Insurance Quotes at Direct Auto

How much is cheap car insurance in North Carolina? Get a quote to find out today! In addition to providing North Carolina drivers with the state minimums, Direct Auto has additional coverages you may want to consider. These include Collision and Comprehensive to help pay for damage to your own vehicle during an accident or “act of God.”

Call 1-877-GO-DIRECT if you have additional questions, need more information about North Carolina auto coverage options such as Roadside Assistance, or would like a free car insurance quote. Friendly representatives are available online, over the phone, or in-person at one of our many North Carolina locations!

Visit North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, North Carolina Department of Insurance, Official State of North Carolina Website, or North Carolina Department of Transportation to learn more!

```