From Tupelo to Biloxi, all Mississippi motorists are required to have car insurance in order to drive. Mississippi law requires that all drivers maintain liability insurance and carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. Your insurance card can be in paper form or can be shown on your smartphone. It doesn't matter how you prove it, you just have to show that you have the right amount of liability insurance! Unlike many other states, though, in Mississippi you don't need auto insurance to register your car or apply for your Mississippi driver's license.
The minimum required coverage includes $25,000 per person (limited to a single accident), $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage.
What do these coverages do? Bodily Injury Liability pays for medical and legal protection should you or another insured on your policy cause bodily injury to another person while operating your vehicle. Property Damage Liability pays for damage to another's property caused while operating your vehicle. This covers damage to property such as vehicles, poles, fences, etc. With both coverages, the “limit” is the maximum amount the insurance company will pay for property damage.