Looking for cheap auto insurance in Louisiana is easy when you have a basic idea of how car insurance rates are calculated. Louisiana insurance rates can vary depending on a number of factors, including your driving record, your age, the type of vehicle you drive, where you live within the state, and the amount of auto insurance coverage you select beyond the required minimum amount.
At Direct Auto Insurance, we break it all down for you, from the moment you get a quote to the moment you purchase your policy. We cover those who may not be accepted by other Louisiana auto insurance companies, plus we offer free quotes for affordable auto insurance. At Direct Auto, you'll discover flexible car insurance coverage plans that fit your needs, plus easy access to time-saving resources online, over the phone, and in-person. Time is money, and we aim to save you a little of both! You can even make your coverage more affordable by customizing your payments: simply choose your down payment amount, your monthly payment amount, and the day of the month your payment is due.
Ready to get started? The first step to comparing Louisiana's cheapest auto insurance quotes is to decide how much coverage you need.
*Rates and savings vary. Pay plans, discounts and coverages subject to terms and conditions.
Louisiana law requires all of your registered vehicles to have liability insurance and that you carry proof of insurance in all your vehicles. The minimum required insurance is:
Bodily Injury Liability (BI) coverage of at least $15,000 to cover injury or death to any one person that results from an auto accident, and $30,000 to cover injuries to or death of more than one person resulting from a single auto accident.
Property Damage Liability (PD) coverage of at least $25,000 to cover damage to the property of others caused by an auto accident.
Beyond meeting Louisiana's liability insurance minimum, you can choose the insurance coverage that best fits your situation. Drivers in “The Bayou State” often choose to carry insurance coverage above and beyond the legal minimum. This includes Comprehensive, Collision, Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage, Medical Payments, and even services like Roadside Assistance. After a covered incident, these types of coverages can all come into play when you’re facing car repair costs and medical bills of your own.
Bodily Injury Liability (BI): pays for medical and legal protection should you or another insured on your policy cause bodily injury to another person while operating your vehicle. The “limit” is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for bodily injury damages.
Property Damage Liability (PD): pays for damage to another's property caused while operating your vehicle. This covers damage to property such as vehicles, poles, fences, etc. The “limit” is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for property damage.
The consequences of driving without car insurance aren't cheap! Louisiana auto insurance laws make sure of it. Driving uninsured in Louisiana is not a misdemeanor, but it can result in hefty fines and penalties. You could also have your license and registration taken away, or your vehicle impounded.
And if you're in an accident while uninsured? Talk about costly. You'll want to familiarize yourself with Louisiana's "No Pay, No Play" law. This law prevents uninsured and underinsured drivers from collecting the first $15,000 of bodily injury damages and the first $25,000 of property damages, even when they are the victim of a car accident. You essentially won't get compensated by the other driver's insurance company if you were driving uninsured at the time of the accident, even if the other driver was "in the wrong."
Life gets busy, but you don't want to let your car insurance coverage lapse or expire in Louisiana. The consequences are tough to bounce back from. The state will flag your driver's license and you will not be able to register your car. They could also fine you a minimum of $50. Let your coverage lapse for 90 days and you could be fined as much as $300! When cheap Louisiana car insurance is available, why risk paying the high price of going without it?
Contact Direct Auto online, over the phone at 1-877-GO DIRECT, or at one of our office locations. We're here if you still have questions, would like to learn about other Louisiana auto insurance options like UM coverage or Medical Payments, or if you would like to get an affordable auto insurance quote.
For more on insurance in Louisiana, visit Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles, Louisiana Office of Insurance Regulation, Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development, or Official State of Louisiana Website.