When searching for cheap car insurance in Florida, it helps to understand how insurance rates work. Florida car insurance rates can vary depending on your driving record, your age, the type of vehicle you drive, where you live within the state, and the amount of coverage you select beyond the required minimum amount. When comparing cheap auto insurance quotes in Florida, it pays to know what you're looking at. Explore your options to make sure you’re getting the right coverage for your lifestyle and budget. The cheapest Florida auto insurance may not always be the best insurance for you.
Direct Auto Insurance is here to help make sure your Florida auto insurance needs are met from the very beginning, so you can hit the road for the Everglades or beach with peace of mind any time!
*Commercial insurance is produced by Direct Auto Insurance agents and underwritten by member companies of National General Insurance or other carriers not affiliated with the Direct General Group. Availability, qualifications, and amounts of coverages may vary. Other terms, conditions and exclusions apply.
†Discounts subject to terms and conditions. By the members of the National General Ins. Grp., Winston-Salem, NC.
Florida law requires that you have auto insurance on all registered vehicles with four wheels and carry proof of insurance in your vehicles at all times. Even if you have vehicles you're not driving, you must maintain continuous Florida insurance on them. Any vehicle with a valid FL tag and registration must be insured—it's the law.
It's important to note, however, that the Sunshine State is a "no fault state." That means Florida car insurance requirements are a little different than other state insurance laws. In no fault states like Florida, auto insurance companies will pay for covered injury-related expenses up to a certain amount (the limit) regardless of which driver is deemed "at fault" for the accident. You generally cannot sue the other driver involved in the accident, if you live in a no fault state. You also can't be sued, if it's determined that you're the at-fault driver.
The minimum required insurance for any person who has a valid Florida tag (even if the vehicle is in another state or not being regularly used) includes the following coverages. Remember that your insurance company will pay for damages up to the limits of the policy. While sticking with the lowest limit could help you get cheaper car insurance in Florida, you always have the option to choose higher limits than the minimum coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of $10,000 per occurrence. Also known as Florida PIP or Florida no fault insurance, this covers you and those insured on your policy for certain damages caused by an auto accident, no matter who is at fault. This coverage can sometimes apply to certain medical expenses, work loss, and funeral benefits.
Property Damage Liability (PD) of $10,000 per occurrence. This pays for damages to another's property caused while operating your vehicle. It includes damage to things like vehicles, poles, fences, etc. Florida insurance laws do not require you to carry coverage that pays for repairs on your own vehicle.
And sometimes, Bodily Injury Liability (BI) of $20,000 per occurrence. Florida drivers who've been in a crash or convicted of certain offenses may also be required to have BI on top of PD. This pays for medical and legal protection should you or another insured on your policy cause bodily injury to another person while operating your vehicle.
You must have BI if you are convicted of a DUI. In this case, the minimum auto insurance required in Florida is BI of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per occurrence; PIP of $10,000 per occurrence; and PD of $50,000 per occurrence. You may also be required to file an SR22 or FR44 to verify that you have the right amount of automobile insurance.
Now, you may have heard about something called Florida SR22 insurance, but an SR22 is not actually a type of insurance. An SR22 is a document that your insurance company files on your behalf with the Department of Motor Vehicles to prove that you have the right amount of Florida auto insurance. The "SR" stands for "safety responsibility." You may be required to get an SR22 for a period of time after being convicted of reckless driving, driving uninsured, or having your license suspended. An FR44 is similar to an SR22 but is required when you've been convicted of driving under the influence. Contact Direct Auto with any questions you have about filing an SR22 or FR44.
What if you use your car or truck for business, other than commuting? Perhaps you drive an ice cream truck in Jacksonville or provide landscaping services in Orlando. Or maybe you're self-employed as a taxi driver in Miami and you own your taxicab. Whatever the case, you'll need to meet Florida commercial auto insurance requirements. These requirements vary by vehicle type and weight, but generally include minimum levels of combined Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability of at least $50,000 to $300,000 per occurrence. You can find a competitively priced commercial auto insurance policy when you choose Direct Auto, with flexible payment options and even available discounts.*
It's risky to drive without insurance in Florida. Cheap is definitely not a word we would associate with the consequences! You are required to have PIP and PD coverage for as long as your car is registered and licensed in Florida. If you don’t keep the required minimum coverage, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your driving privileges, vehicle license plate, and registration for up to three years or until proof of Florida auto insurance is provided. It will cost you between $150 and $500 to get your privileges reinstated, so it pays to get insured and stay insured even if you go with the cheapest Florida insurance you can find.
We welcome all drivers to apply for coverage, even those who've been convicted of a DUI or who may not be accepted by other Florida auto insurance companies. No matter your credit score or driving history, we always offer free quotes for affordable car insurance in Florida. Partner with Direct Auto Insurance for personal or commercial auto insurance today and you’ll get flexible auto insurance coverage plans to fit your needs, plus easy access to agents online, over the phone, and in person. Call 1-877-GO-DIRECT to see if you're getting the cheapest Florida car insurance you can find!
To learn more about Florida auto insurance, visit Florida Office of Insurance Regulation, Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Florida Department of Transportation, and the Official State of Florida website.