Getting cheaper car insurance in Arkansas starts with knowing how much insurance coverage you need, how much coverage you want, and how Arkansas car insurance rates can vary depending on your driving record, vehicle type, and even your age. Right now you may be paying for more coverage than the state of Arkansas even requires you to have! You might need it, but you might not. The right Arkansas auto insurance company can help you determine what's right for you.
At Direct Auto Insurance, we can help you find affordable auto insurance that fits your budget and driving style—and that's all while satisfying Arkansas insurance laws. No matter your past credit score or driving history, you're welcome to apply for coverage with Direct Auto.
*Rates and savings vary. Pay plans, discounts and coverages subject to terms and conditions.
Whether you live in Jonesboro, Little Rock, or Hot Springs, your car insurance coverage requirements are the same. In order to register your car with the Office of Motor Vehicles you will need to show proof of insurance that includes Bodily Injury Liability (BI) of at least $25,000 to cover injury or death to any one person that results from an auto accident, and $50,000 to cover injuries to or death of more than one person resulting from a single auto accident.
You'll also need to have Property Damage Liability (PD) coverage of at least $25,000 to cover damage to the property of others caused by an auto accident. You are not required to have Comprehensive or Collision coverages, which would help pay for damage to your own vehicle in the event of a covered accident or collision.
What do Arkansas's required coverages do? Bodily Injury Liability pays for medical and legal protection should you or another insured on your policy cause bodily injury to another person while operating your vehicle. Property Damage Liability pays for damage to another's property caused while operating your vehicle. This covers damage to property such as vehicles, poles, fences, etc. With both coverages, the “limit” is the maximum amount the insurance company will pay for property damage.
Your Arkansas insurance company is also required to offer you additional coverage on top of Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability. These are coverages that you'll need to reject in writing if you do not want to keep. Note that while rejecting them when you first buy your policy could help you get the cheapest car insurance in Arkansas, it may not be in your best interest in the long run. In the event of an accident, you could be stuck paying more out-of-pocket for repairs and medical expenses than you expected. The exact names for these coverages may vary between insurance companies.
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident. This helps pay for your medical expenses when the at-fault driver is unable to pay for any injuries they cause you because they don't have an Arkansas auto insurance policy.
Uninsured Motorist Property Damage coverage of $25,0000 per person, $50,000 per accident. As long as you are not the at-fault driver in the event of a vehicle crash, you can use this coverage to pay for your property damage and repairs when the other driver doesn't have car insurance.
Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident. When the at-fault driver's liability insurance coverage isn't enough to cover the cost of your bodily injuries, this coverage kicks in.
Medical Benefits coverage of $5,000. This coverage helps pay for your injuries from an accident.
Lost Earnings/Income Disability Benefits of up to $140 per week. If the injuries you receive from the vehicle accident make it impossible for you to work and earn your income, this benefit pays up to $140 per week for 52 weeks following the accident.
Accidental Death Benefits of $5,000. If any covered person passes away due to injuries sustained from the accident, the beneficiary of the deceased can receive $5,000 to help pay for burial and funeral expenses.
The penalties aren't cheap! Arkansas auto insurance law requires that all motorists have liability coverage for all of the vehicles registered in their name. Even if you're not caught driving without insurance, the state has a digital insurance reporting system that can catch you.
Depending on the situation, penalties for driving uninsured can vary from heavy fines to jail time. You'll likely end up with a fine, may have your license plates removed, and could have your registration suspended. You'll then need to provide the DMV with proof of your new auto insurance policy or an SR22 filed by your insurance company in order to get your driving privileges back on track. When cheap Arkansas auto insurance is out there, do you really want to risk going without it?
If Arkansas is "The Land of Opportunity," then Direct Auto is the "Insurance Company of Opportunity." Whether you're recovering from a DUI/DWI, need help with an SR22 in Arkansas, or just want to talk about cheaper car insurance quotes, Direct Auto is the place to go. We even offer roadside assistance, emergency protection plans, and term life insurance. Contact us online, over the phone at 1-877-GO-DIRECT, or visit one of our many Arkansas locations today!
Find important Arkansas insurance information at Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles, Arkansas Insurance Department, Official State of Arkansas Website, and Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department.